History of the Fund

In December 1998, a small group led by then-BHS Headmaster Bob Weintraub gathered at the home of Sandy (’51) and David Bakalar to discuss an idea that would allow Brookline High School to continue (into the 21st Century!) its long-held leadership in testing new ideas in public education. Many of the attendees were alumni of the high school and parents of students at the school, and some were both alumni and parents. There has never been a shortage of ideas at Brookline High School but, like at every public school, funds are not always readily available for new courses or teaching approaches. For answers to questions that started out with “What if we tried…,” the guests at the Bakalar home that night decided to start by turning the question around: “What if you had the money to try?” During the next year, more than $400,000 was committed, most of it that night, to launch the 21st Century Fund, which, in 2016, was renamed the Brookline High School Innovation Fund to more clearly communicate its unique mission. Read more here.

Today, the Innovation Fund has raised more than $10 million to support and sustain a range of initiatives, many of which have become a permanent part of the BHS curriculum. Since its inception, the Innovation Fund has launched over 30 programs that have become fully incorporated into the Town of Brookline budget,

A great many individuals, families, foundations, and corporations have joined the effort since its inception, but we have a special debt of thanks to that forward-thinking group we call our Founders.

Robert (’45) & Betsy Abrams
Warren (’59) & Jan Adelson
Sandra (’51) & David Bakalar
Bay State Federal Savings
BHS Alumni Association
Sandy (’69) & Carolina Bloomberg
Brookline Bancorp
Cornelia Brown
Harold (’41) & Maura Brown
Ronald Brown (’53)
Peter Carman (’59)
Miceal & Nancie Chamberlain
Helen Charlupski & Joseph Biederman
Julian Cohen* (’42)

Steve (’59) & Miriam Comen
John Cragin & Marilyn Fife
Reuben Daniels (’87)
James Davis (’61)
Lew Eisenberg & Nancy Farrell
Lois (’45) & Hank* Foster
Laurel (’45) & Orrie* Friedman
Deborah Goldberg (’71)
Peter (’66) & Wendy (’67) Gordon
Susan Gordon
Edward Haber & Jamie Logan
Nancy Hawthorne
Helios Foundation, Linda Jacobs
Sheila & Irwin (’63) Heller
Chobee Hoy

Eric Jackson (’63)
Ira (’66) & Martha Jackson
Robert (’59) & Myra* Kraft
Joel Leavitt (’46)
Norman (’61) & Sondra Levenson
Nancy Lincoln
Bob & Syrul Lurie
Betty Morningstar (’70)
Richard Morningstar (’63)
Conan O’Brien (’81)
Lynn & William Osborn
Margie* (’51) & Bert* Paley
Steven Rosenfeld & Margot Botsford
Daniel* (’41) & Susan Rothenberg
Stephen Ross (’66)

Jonathan & Eve Rounds
Carl Sapers (’49)
William Sapers (’46)
Donald Saunders (’52)
Roger Saunders (’47)
Arthur Segel (’69)
James (’63) & Mimi Segel
Douglas & Nanci Sharon
Harry Silverman (’60)
Alan (’66) & Susan Solomont
John Spooner (’55)
Richard Thaler (’69)
Mike Wallace* (’35)
Robert Weintraub
George Weiss (’61)
Edward Zuker (’65)



  • bhsinnovationfund@psbma.org
  • 617-713-5201
  • 115 Greenough St Brookline, MA 02445